Thoughts on True Worship: Giving of Ourselves

10 03 2010

Hey guys,

Loving the warm weather?!  Spring is just around the corner!  So is our first ever Connections gathering.  Please plan on attending! 

March 28th

3pm-6pm

Plainfield Hampton Inn, Conference Room

Worship

Speaker

Small Group/Fellowship Time

FOOD!!!

Here’s some devotional thoughts for this week from our Young Adult Ministry Assistant, Mariya Jones:

True worship: surrendering to honor God in everything

God has been laying it on my heart recently to give up some things in my life to honor him more fully. I have a hard time with this because I am human and it is our nature to be selfish. I want to make myself happy but I also want to please God in everything I do just like it says in the Bible. The Bible also talks about being a missionary in our cities, countries and to the ends of the earth. Acts 1:8

“But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.”

I hear repeatedly, (especially at the student missions conference Urbana), that we need to learn to be missionaries where we are at before we can be effective ministers in other parts of the world. This is really hard for me because I feel that in order to be relevant to those around me I need to continuously be a part of some kind of community. I feel the need to be a part of some group, to look genuine or in some way “cool” to that group in order to share the gospel effectively with them. This sounds really silly for me to say and write. I often feel confused about how to stay true to my Savior and praise him constantly in all my actions, but still be able to be a part of a group of people who don’t often hear his words so that they can truly hear what he is saying through me.

            God does not want someone who cannot handle the heat of being an outspoken Christian. If we truly want to follow God and be his hands and feet to the ends of the earth, we have to give up everything and follow him to wherever he wants us to go. We must fill our lives with him and do what he tells us no matter how hard we think it is. Luke 14:27

“And anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.”

It’s so hard to die to ourselves constantly and be that morally upright follower of Christ, but it’s something I believe we are continually perfecting throughout our lives.

My prayer for those of us who want to be involved in Connections, is that we can support each other in this continuous reach to be a better Christian and missionary and that we can truly worship our Lord. I hope that our time together will prove helpful in making Jesus Christ our center.

Have a great week!  Praying for you!

To the King!

Katy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

