God is…

19 02 2009

Hey guys,

 

So we had a great time here at WYM last weekend talking about discernment together.  I’ve heard some great feedback about the Retreat this past weekend being very timely and relevant for everybody.  So with that in mind and looking toward preparing our hearts to begin the season of Lent next week I thought I’d share these thoughts.

 

What does it mean that God came to earth?  To live as one of us?  To sacrifice His one and only Son?  To send a counselor and provider to guide us?  What kind of a God is that?

 

The LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.

Gen. 2:7

 

I am God Almighty; walk before me and be blameless.  I will confirm my covenant between me and you. 

Gen. 17:1-2

 

My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.

Ex. 33:14

 

The LORD bless you and keep you;

the LORD make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you;

the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace.

Num. 6:24-26

 

He reached down from on high and took hold of me; he drew me out of deep waters.

He rescued me from my powerful enemy, from my foes, who were too strong for me.

They confronted me in the day of my disaster, but the LORD was my support.

He brought me out into a spacious place; he rescued me because he delighted in me.

2 Sam. 22:17-20

 

I have set the LORD always before me.  Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.

Therefore my heart is glad and my tongue rejoices; my body also will rest secure,

because you will not abandon me to the grave, nor will you let your Holy One see decay.

You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence,
       with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Ps. 16:8-11

 

The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them;
       he delivers them from all their troubles.

Ps. 34:17

 

Therefore the Lord himself will give you a sign:

The virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.

Isa. 7:14

 

My dwelling place will be with them; I will be their God, and they will be my people.  Then the nations will know that I the LORD make Israel holy, when my sanctuary is among them forever.

Ezek. 37:27-28

 

The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save.
       He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.

Zeph. 3:17

 

Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

Matt. 28:20

 

That all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.  I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

John 17:21-23

 

You will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses…

Acts 1:8

 

If the Spirit of him who raised Jesus from the dead is living in you, he who raised Christ from the dead will also give life to your mortal bodies through his Spirit, who lives in you.

Rom. 8:11

 

My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

2 Cor. 12:9

 

I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Eph. 3:17-19

 

For the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.

Heb. 4:12

 

Be content with what you have, because God has said,
   “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”

So we say with confidence,
   “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?”

Heb. 13:5-6

 

May you feel the power of this God in real ways this week.  May His presence infiltrate your life and fill your brokenness and questions.  May His love surround you and comfort you.

 

Praying for you.

 

To the King!

Katy

 

P.S. Internship Applications are now available.  They are due March 1st!!!!!!

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

