The Breath of Aslan

26 01 2009

Hey guys,

 

So I got out of my car this afternoon after lunch and I heard this horrific bang coming from the direction of the Plainfield Friends Church.  I looked over and saw gigantic pieces of ice falling from the roof of the building.  I had to stop and ponder this image for a moment.  The ice is thawing and falling from the church.

 

It made me think of some of the final scenes in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe.  Aslan has risen from the dead and is breathing on the saints, melting them, and getting them ready to join them in battle.  What a beautiful picture of how Christ can bring revival to the church, even to Western Yearly Meeting.  I know as Quakers the battle images of scripture often fly in the face of our pacifism and don’t make sense.  But there is a clear view through out scripture that there is a spiritual war to be fought and that God calls us to stand firm in our faith and united against His enemies.

 

God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps,  a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels.

 

Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.

Eph. 6:10-18 (MSG)

 

I wonder if we, as the Church, need to fall to our knees and ask for the breath of the Holy Spirit to fall on us so that we can find the strength to stand, to fight, to be the Body of Christ once more.  So that we can remember who we are fighting for and why we need to stand.  This song “Breath Me” from Sia seemed like a fitting confession and petition if you look at these words as a plea on behalf of the Church.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00fsUxcHGNM

 

Help, I have done it again
I have been here many times before
Hurt myself again today
And, the worst part is there’s no-one else to blame

Be my friend
Hold me, wrap me up
Unfold me
I am small
and needy
Warm me up
And breathe me

Ouch I have lost myself again
Lost myself and I am nowhere to be found,
Yeah I think that I might break
Lost myself again and I feel unsafe

 

Announcements/Updates!

            *WYM Winter Retreat – Understanding Friends’ Discernment

Feb. 14th (free to Sundesmos people who pre-register through WYM Office, free book as well)

Yes, it’s V-Day…so bring your sweetheart along for a heart filled discussion on how we hear God speaking to us and discern His will.  Sounds romantic right?!  In all seriousness though, this is going to be a great chance for you as Young Adults to really take some time to look at this idea of discernment and how we find out what it is that God wants to say to us individually and corporately.  See attached brochure.

 

*WYM Summer Internships

Applications available Feb. 1st and due March 1st

This is an opportunity for you to explore your gifts in ministry.  Whether you already know what your gifts and passions are or you’re still trying to figure it out, make your summer plans now to join the WYM Interns Program.  See attached brochure.

 

*Urbana Student Mission Conference 2009

Dec. 27th-31st, 2009

This conference is one of the top conferences in the nation bringing 25,000+ college students together for worship and to look at how we can change the world in Jesus’ name.  Start praying now about this opportunity…it only happens every three years…you don’t want to miss it!  More information to come.  You can watch the promo video on Facebook here:

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/video/video.php?v=52315563293&oid=2362692918

 

Stand firm.  Feel His breath breathing over you.  We are called to be His people.

 

To the King!

Katy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

