Praying for Obama

7 11 2008

Hey guys,

 

Well, what a week we’ve had!  We truly are living in exciting times!  Its kind of hard to believe that the campaigns are over and life is suppose to get back to normal now…whatever normal is now.  We’ve elected our first African-American president, our economy is shot, we’re still at war.  What is normal?  Is change our new normal?

 

I don’t know…but I do know that its exciting to see people engaged, people passionate about our world and the possibilities of our future.  What role do we as Christians play in that?  I won’t even attempt to answer that question.  There seem to be so many suggestions floating out there about how Christ’s followers should be involved and I’m not going to jump on any of those band wagons right now.  Instead I’d like to simply ask that we be intentional about prayer.

 

When I was growing up my mom plastered our refrigerator with pictures.  You couldn’t even see the white enamel of the door because there were so many pictures on it.  Sometimes if you opened the door too fast a few of them would go flying off into space and you’d have to search for them all over the kitchen floor in order to replace them.  You hoped that they didn’t accidently end up in the no-man’s land under the fridge or in between the stove and the fridge.  Why did she do this?  Because these were people we were praying for…missionaries, old friends, people from our church, family members, people who sent Christmas cards that we hadn’t seen for ages.  Some people I only knew from their picture on our fridge.  But those were people in our prayers.  I’ve found myself following in my mother footsteps (gasp!) and I’ve got a few different pictures up around my computer here, of people I want to pray for too…John Muhanji from Kenya, some friends of mine who are getting ready to go to Cambodia as missionaries, some of the WYM interns…people that I want to remember to pray for.  And Wednesday morning I came to my office and I changed my desktop background to a picture of the Obamas because every time I turn my computer on I want to remember to pray for them.

 

A good friend of mine from seminary challenged me last night, during a conversation we were having about politics, about what prayer for our president should really look like.  We so often pray with our own agenda and issues behind our prayers.  We pray that our leaders will be wise and make the right decisions and we hold them accountable to the issues we care about.  But how often do we selflessly pray for them.  For Barack and Michelle’s marriage.  For the two little girls that are getting ready to move halfway across the country into a strange and unfamiliar environment with their new puppy.  For the emotional health of Barack as he enters into such a highly stressful position after such a remarkably grueling campaign.  For their spiritual lives…that they may find time to spend with their Lord and know in a real way how much their Heavenly Father loves them. 

 

I’d like to challenge us to be intentional about our prayers.  Be selfless and humble, knowing that in God all things are possible and that His will is supreme in all our lives, including the Barack Obama’s.

 

Now I’m returning to you.
   I’m saying these things in the world’s hearing
   So my people can experience
   My joy completed in them.
   I gave them your word;
   The godless world hated them because of it,
   Because they didn’t join the world’s ways,
   Just as I didn’t join the world’s ways.
   I’m not asking that you take them out of the world
   But that you guard them from the Evil One.
   They are no more defined by the world
   Than I am defined by the world.
   Make them holy—consecrated—with the truth;
   Your word is consecrating truth.
   In the same way that you gave me a mission in the world,
   I give them a mission in the world.
   I’m consecrating myself for their sakes
   So they’ll be truth-consecrated in their mission.

            John 17:13-19 (MSG)

 

 

Come to our Winter Retreat this January!

 

To the King!

Katy

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

